

Mike Keller, President, called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Peggy Bush, Brad Haggadone, Mike Keller, Mike Nolan, Gary Oyster

MEMBERS ABSENT: Wendy Byard and Denise Becker.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The following members of the Zemmer Archery Club led the Board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance: Amina Dada, Tyler Holman, Keegan White, Amaylia Gasperich, and Rikkie Schleben.

PRESENTATION

Mr. Aaron Shinn, Principal and Dr. Mike Hobolth, Associate Principal, updated the Board on the growth taking place at the Zemmer Campus. This is the second year that it has housed 8th and 9th graders and they are working to create a culture of positivity and excellence for their students

Archery Club Sponsors Mike Wiltse and Amy Conger reviewed how this popular, relatively new club, is building relationships among the students, staff, parents and community. A tournament was recently held where the students competed against each other and it was huge success. Mr. Wiltse and Ms. Conger thanked the Zemmer administration, COLT and the Board of Education for their support and helping make the Archery Club possible.

Mr. Shinn and Dr. Hobolth are working with the Zemmer teachers to build a culture of shared leadership. Teachers are leading collaborative meetings, sharing work on curriculum design, and leading curriculum work to align to standards. This collaboration extends to working with the 6^{th} and 7^{th} grade teachers at Rolland-Warner and $10^{th} - 12^{th}$ grade teachers at the high school.

Zemmer Learning Coaches Carlene LaGrasso and Beth Rupprecht explained they have been meeting with teachers individually and in small groups with a focus on improving instruction. Becky Gibbons, a first year English Teacher, shared how Carlene has helped her with her instruction this year by watching her teach and then debriefing.

The Coaches are happy with the relationships they have built with the teachers this year and are pleased with how they are becoming more self-directive and reflective when it comes to their instruction.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

REPORTS

Mr. Haggadone reported on the Teaching, Learning, and Technology Committee Meeting that was held on April 11 when the Middle School Math Pilot Recommendation was discussed.

Mrs. Bush reported on the Finance and Operation Committee Meeting that was held on April 11 when the 2015-2016 Budget Amendment and 2007 Bond Refinance Proposal were discussed.

PRESENTATION

Middle School Math Curriculum Recommendation – Michelle Bradford presented information on a new Middle School Math Curriculum that the Board will be asked to approve. She is recommending the CMP3 program (Connected Mathematics) by Pearson be adopted by the Board to be implemented in the fall of 2016. The CMP3 resources and text will be on display in the Boardroom until the Board takes action in May.

ACTION ITEMS

Denise Johnson, one of the math teachers who piloted the programs, was present to answer questions.

Consent Items

- 1. That the minutes from the March 3, 2016 Regular Meeting Regular Meeting be approved as presented.
- 2. That the minutes from the March 24, 2016 Work Session be approved as presented.
- 3. That Board Policy 5460 Graduation Requirements be approved for first reading.
- 4. That a Special Board Meeting be scheduled on May 19, 2016 at 6:45 PM.
- 5. That Bradly Haggadone be appointed to representative the Board at the ISD Annual Meeting on May 4, 2016, and Mike Keller appointed as the alternate.

Moved by Mr. Oyster, supported by Mr. Nolan, that the reading of the minutes and policy be waived and the consent agenda items be approved as presented. Roll call: Bush-aye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 5-0.

2015-2016 Budget Amendment

Moved by Mrs. Bush, supported by Mr. Oyster, that the 2015-2016 General Fund amendments be approved as presented. Roll call: Bush-aye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 5-0.

Moved by Mrs. Bush, supported by Mr. Haggadone, that the 2015-2016 Food Service Fund amendments be approved as presented. Roll call: Bush-aye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 5-0.

Resolution Authorizing 2016 Refunding Bonds

Moved by Mr. Haggadone, supported by Mr. Oyster, that Resolution Authorizing 2016 Refunding Bonds be approved as presented. Roll call: Bush-aye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 5-0.

BOARD MEMBER COMMUNICATIONS/TOPICS

Board members thanked Mr. Shinn, his staff, and the students for their presentation. Board members also thanked the middle school math teachers and other staff for their work and research that ended with the Middle School Math Curriculum recommendation that was presented at tonight's meeting.

Board members congratulated Mrs. Kim Siefferly, Executive Director for Human Resources on receiving one of the Outstanding Contributor Awards that were announced this week.

Mr. Haggadone attend the Archery Club Tournament at Zemmer and was pleased with the number of families that attended. A parent told him they are not a family of athletes so he was thrilled his daughter was able to participate in the Archery Club.

President Keller was pleased to announce that he was able to participate when the Brian Whiston, State Superintendent of Schools, was here to tour some of our buildings and see all the innovative things that are happening in Lapeer Community Schools.

SUPERINTENDENT COMMENTS

Superintendent Wandrie thanked Mr. Shinn, his staff, and students for their presentation. He is very pleased with the work taking place at Zemmer in the last 2 years and happy with the culture they are creating in the

building. He was pleased to be able to see a presentation by an AP Capstone student that was incredible. He thanked Mr. Hobolth for the recommendation to bring that program to Lapeer.

Mr. Wandrie is continuing work on security for our buildings and will have more information available for the Board soon.

The 2016 Employee Recognition award winners were named this week (see below). Mr. Wandrie congratulated the winners and reminded the Board the annual awards dinner will be held on May 11.

Distinguished Educator – Lora Richardson Distinguished Service Award – RaeAnne Fielder and Ann Vierk Outstanding Contributor Award – Jeannine Ridenour, Kim Seifferly, and Cynthia Tuzinsky

CLOSED SESSION

Moved by Mr. Oyster, supported by Mr. Nolan, that the Board move to Closed Session to review the Superintendent's Evaluation and the contract for the Superintendent and Assistant Superintendent. Roll call: Bush-aye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 5-0.

Meeting recessed from open session at 9:24 PM. Meeting convened in closed session at 9:28 PM.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Peggy Bush, Bradly Haggadone, Michael Keller, Michael Nolan, Gary Oyster

MEMBERS ABSENT: Denise Becker, Wendy Byard

OTHERS PRESENT: Matt Wandrie

Meeting returned to open session at 9:57 PM.

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Mrs. Bush, supported by Mr. Haggadone, that the meeting be adjourned. Roll call: Bush-aye; Haggadone-aye; Keller-aye; Nolan-aye; Oyster-aye. Motion carried 5-0. Meeting adjourned at 9:58 PM.

Peggy Bush, Board of Education Secretary